UNESCO Learning City Award Ceremony

The 2017 Award Ceremony

Celebrating achievement: On the occasion of the International Conference on Learning Cities, UNESCO will confer the UNESCO Learning City Award 2017 upon 16 cities from around the world. The cities were selected by an international jury for the outstanding progress made in promoting education and lifelong learning in their local communities

.Read more

The 2017 awardees are: Bristol (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland), Câmara de Lobos (Portugal), Contagem (Brazil), Gelsenkirchen (Germany), Giza (Egypt), Hangzhou (China), Larissa (Greece), Limerick (Ireland), Mayo-Baléo (Cameroon), N’Zérékoré (Guinea), Okayama (Japan), Pécs (Hungary), Surabaya (Indonesia), Suwon (Republic of Korea), Tunis (Tunisia) and Villa María (Argentina)

What is the UNESCO Learning City Award?

The UNESCO Learning City Award has been established to encourage and reward progress achieved in developing learning cities around the world. The award is conferred on cities that have achieved outstanding progress in building learning cities by implementing the Key Features of Learning Cities adopted at the 2013 International Conference on Learning Cities in Beijing. According to this framework, a learning city is one which mobilizes its resources in every sector to:

  • promote inclusive learning from basic to higher education;
  • revitalize learning in families and communities;
  • facilitate effective learning for and in the workplace;
  • extend the use of modern learning technologies;
  • enhance quality and excellence in learning;
  • foster a culture of learning throughout life.
2015 Awardees

The inaugural UNESCO Learning City Award was presented to 12 cities across all UNESCO regions in 2015. All of these cities have made outstanding progress in piloting and implementing the Key Features of Learning Cities since the First International Conference on Learning Cities in 2013.

The 2015 awardees are: Melton (Australia), Sorocaba (Brazil), Beijing (China), Bahir Dar (Ethiopia), Espoo (Finland), Cork (Ireland), Amman (Jordan), Mexico City (Mexico), Ybycuí (Paraguay), Balanga (Philippines), Namyangju (Republic of Korea) and Swansea (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland).

Read More